OHSAS 18001 Certification

OHSAS 18001 Certification - Health and Safety Management

OHSAS 18001  Certification



OHSAS 18001 Certification is now replaced with ISO 45001:2018 Certification.


ISO 45001 is an Occupational Health and Safety Management System Standard.  The organization who is already Certified with OHSAS 18001 Certification, Kindly upgrade the current Occupational Health and Safety Management System with ISO 45001 requirements.


ISO 45001 Covers all the requirements of OHSAS 18001, with some Additional requirement for better output of the Occupational Health Safety Management System.


ISO 45001  Standard has added  new requirements, in addition to OHSAS 18001  are

  • Risk-Based Thinking
  • Involvement of Participation and Consultations of worker in most OHS Management in the organization.
  •  Identification of issues affecting OHS performance and its Risk Analysis
  •  Identification and addressing the Need and Expectations of Interested Praty and worker  & It’s Risk Analysis.


Occupational Health and Safety Management – is an internationally applied standard for occupational health and safety management systems. It exists to help all kinds of organizations put in place demonstrably sound occupational health and safety performance. It is a widely recognized and popular occupational health and safety management system. It helps to “Reduce workplace hazards and boost employee morale”. The main purpose of this Management System is to eliminate or minimize operational risks and hazards. It helps you to create the best possible working conditions in your organization – and helps you to meet industry, customer requirements as well as regulatory and contractual requirements


What is the PDCA(Plan Do Check Act)Model in OHSAS?


Plan-Do-Check-Act (also called “PDCA”) is a cycle that was originated by Walter Shewhart and made popular by Edward Deming – two of the fathers of modern quality control. This concept is a cycle for implementing change which, when followed and repeated, would lead to repeated improvements in the process it was applied to.


This is a model for improvement that is sustained, rather than just a one-time quick fix, and it is for this reason that it is applied to the ISO standards. The ISO standards have a main goal that is continual improvement of the Management System.


How the cycle of improvement works within the Management System is described as follows:


Plan – Planning is one of the biggest parts of OHSAS and starts with understanding the context of the organization and the needs of parties interested. It is then used to define the scope of OHSAS. This is followed by the commitment of leadership in the company to drive OHSAS in the Organization by defining the organizational roles and responsibilities and by establishing a policy. The next level of planning is to identify and address risks, including setting and planning for objectives and changes to support continual improvement. The final level of planning is to identify and implement the support structure to allow you to carry out your plans. This includes resources, identifying competence, awareness, communication and to set the processes for creation and control of documented information.


Do – Planning is useless unless the plan is carried out. Controls need to be identified for OHSAS, requirements need to be identified, designs developed, controls placed on externally provided processes, products and services.


Check – There are several requirements in the standard to check the processes of the OSHS to ensure they are functioning properly as they have been planned. There is a need to monitor, measure, analyze and evaluate the products or services to ensure they meet requirements, the processes used are adequate and effective, and customer satisfaction is being met. Internal Audit of the processes is the key way to assess the effectiveness of the system. Further is the Management Review process, which reviews and assesses all of the monitored data to make changes and plans to address the issues.


Act – Action in this case involves the actions needed to address any issues found in the check step. Improvement is the overall heading for these action steps with the activities of addressing nonconformity and Corrective Actions to eliminate the causes of actual or potential nonconformities as the first step in acting to improve the overall system.


What are the benefits of BS OHSAS 18001 Occupational Health and Safety Management?


  • It helps create the best possible working conditions across your organization.
  • OHSAS framework helps you to identify hazards and put in place controls to manage them,
  • It reduces workplace accidents and illness to cut related costs and downtime.
  • It also engages and motivates staff with better, safer working conditions
  • Helps demonstrate compliance to customers and suppliers.
  • It ensures compliance with Legal and Regulatory requirements as well.
  • It improves the business opportunity as well as leads to continual improvement of the organization.


Certification Requirements for OHSAS


To comply with OHSAS 18001 health and safety certification an Organisation must have the following policies, procedures and protocols


  • OHSAS 18001 System Manual
  • Occupational Health and Policy
  • Hazard identification, risk assessment and control measure procedure(s)
  • Health and Safety Legal and other requirements procedure
  • Health and Safety Objectives and programmes
  • Adequate resources to maintain the Safety Management System
  • Communication, participation, documentation and record procedures
  • Safety Legislation Compliance and Internal audit procedures
  • Safety operational control and emergency procedures
  • Health and Safety performance monitoring
  • OHSAS 18001 non conformity, corrective and preventative action
  • OHSAS 18001 Management Review


Certification Process for OHSAS


The OHSAS 18001 certification process involves a two stage certification process.


  • Stage 1 OHSAS 18001 (Document review and to see the prepadness of the organization for Stage-2 Audit)
  • Stage 2 OHSAS 18001 (Certification Assessment)
    – Review of Audit Report & Certification decision
    – Award of Certification


An OHSAS 18001 certificate validity is for 3 years and a company needs to undergo surveillance visit audits every Year to maintain their OHSAS 18001 certification.


Why Choose OSS?


We have pioneered certification in OHSAS for more than 10 years; we help over 350 organizations ranging from top global brands to small ambitious businesses in 7 countries worldwide to gain an edge over their competition. As one of the few organizations that understand standards from start to end, we don’t only assess how well you’re meeting them, we also provide value added audit findings for further improvements of the organization. So that you can train teams globally to use them and perform better. Our knowledge can transform your organization.