Skip to content

What you must know about ISO 45001 Certification Standard?

  • by
ISO 45001 Certification

Occupational Health Safety Management ISO 45001 Certification Standard – The management of Health and Safety at the workplace (Workers, Employees, Suppliers, Subcontractors, visitors, neighbors, etc) by proper OHS Hazard Identification, Risk Analysis, and taking proper control measures along with meeting the compliance requirements of regulatory Body/another requirement (as Applicable). ISO 45001 is a worldwide recommendation for maintaining safety measures related to the well-being and safety of employees in a specific organization. It works solely to strengthen worker safety infrastructure and reduce business-related injuries. The ISO 45001 certification standard is expected to provide employees worldwide with safe and secure working conditions. The standard assists associations by providing a secure and robust workplace where employees can work with the highest level of safety assurance.

The International Organization for Standardization has published the ISO 45001 Certification Occupational Health Safety Management System Standard. The standards enable organizations to proactively improve injury prevention, reduce health deterioration, and protect longevity The Organizations must actively compete in a competitive global marketplace by taking risks. The issue of occupational health and safety management is critical because its value has steadily declined over the last few decades.

By Adopting the Occupational Health and Safety Management System ISO 45001:2018 by the organization for implementation and getting ISO 45001 Certification by the Accredited ISO Certification Body –    is the most significant step forward in improving occupational health and safety (OHS) in the organization.

ISO 45001 Certification Fundamental Principles

The ISO 45001 Certification takes the same approach as ISO 9001 and ISO 14001. These standards include a high-level structure that aids in incorporating the best management system. Other International Standards, such as OHSAS 18001, the International Labour Organization’s rules and procedures on occupational safety and health management systems, are also considered. OHSAS 18001 is no longer valid for certification; it was superseded by the publication of ISO 45001:2018. So, any organization still unaware and seeking OHSAS 18001 Certification must update its0 OHS Management System standard to meet the requirements of ISO 45001:2018.


ISO 45001 Occupational Health and Safety Management System

The current version of ISO 45001, which was conceptualized and adopted in 2018, is known as the ISO 45001:2018 standard. It provides organizations with the necessary requirements for certification. As a business owner, you must always strive to become ISO 45001 certified.

The fundamental requirement of ISO 45001 Certification for any business is to provide a safe and healthy workplace for all employees to work in. The ISO 45001 certification accomplishes this by limiting work-related injury or illness. This certification standard seeks active participation from the organization’s top management and ensures that all employees are aware of the OH&S management System


What are the Key Requirements of ISO 45001 Certification, the organization needs to know?

  • Understanding the organization and its context
  • Identifying the company’s internal and external issues and addressing them by proper Risk Assessment
  • Identification of the workers’ and interested parties’ needs and expectations in this regard
  • Create, implement, and enforce an OH&S policy
  • Employee consultation and participation
  • Actions to mitigate risks and capitalize on opportunities
  • Identifying hazards and assessing risks and opportunities
  • Legal and other requirements must be determined.
  • Control and operational planning
  • removing hazards and lowering OH&S risks
  • Preparedness and response to emergencies
  • Evaluation of OHS performance

What are the Key Features of ISO 45001 Certification?

If you intend to apply for the highly coveted ISO 45001 Certification, you must be aware of all the key features of this certification standard.

The following are the main characteristics:

  • The topmost commitment related to the organization’s management body OHS policy is much broader requirements considering all-possible aspects related to occupational health safety
  • Consultation and worker participation
  • Commitment of the prevention of Injury and illness
  • Enhance the organization’s overall OHS performance
  • Improve OHS-related legal compliances

Why do organizations want ISO 45001 certification?

Primarily, it is everyone’s responsibility to sustain and protect a safe and strong workplace by avoiding grievance, avoiding ill health, minimizing hazards, and consistently cultivating OH&S performance. Leading organizations are increasingly concerned with achieving sound health and safety performance, often while bringing cost savings and upholding established norms. By obtaining this certification, organizations can be assured of gaining the true strength that comes from gaining the confidence and trust of their employees. In such a setting,


How Do I Obtain ISO 45001 Certification?

To begin, you must first implement the best and most trusted ISO 45001 management system. After that, getting this certification will be easier than ever! You should look for and collaborate with a reputable ISO 45001 Certification Services Provider who works as a certified third-party service agent. The fundamental steps in obtaining ISO 45001 certification are that the organization shall Develop and implement an ISO 45001 management system Plan an extensive audit with an accredited third-party an auditor will evaluate your procedures and application to ensure you are compliant, if necessary, resolve any compliance issues identified in the audit.


What are the Documents required by the organization prior to ISO 45001 Certification as a minimum?

While the organization is preparing for ISO 45001 certification, the ISO 45001:2018 requirements are being implemented in the organization, covering all the key processes and functions covered by the organization’s activities. According to the ISO 45001:2018 standard, there are numerous requirements that must be met when implementing the Occupational Health and Safety Management System 45001 ISO Standard. However, regardless of size, a few documents are the most common and important for ISO 45001 certification. Organizational activities – For your convenience, the documents are listed below. for quick reference

– OHS Policy & objective

– OHS Hazard Identification and Risk Assessment

– Legal Register and Compliance Record – Worker Participation and Consultation Record – OHS Training Record – Risk Analysis Record – OHS Performance Monitoring Record – Internal Audit Record – Management Review Meeting Record

Apart from these records, the organization may keep many other records depending on its size and nature, but these are the minimum requirements that the organization must have during ISO 45001 implementation.

Also, read- What You Must Know About ISO 27001 Certification Standard


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *